Mike Swick Injured, Withdraws From UFC 134: Rio CardFormer top contender Mike “Quick” Swick has been forced to withdraw from his UFC 134 bout with Erick “Indio” Silva after tearing the ACL and MCL in his knee during training. The embattled welterweight has been sidelined for 18 months due to illness and injuries, and has dropped back-to-back fights.

Tatame.com was first to report that Swick has been replaced on the card by UFC newcomer Luis “Beição” Ramos, who has won 10 of his last 12 fights. Silva, a champion in Jungle Fight, will also make his Octagon debut in the fight and has not lost since dropping a decision to Mario Neto in 2006.

Silva (12-1-0, 1 NC) has stopped nine of his opponents to date, with seven victories ending by way of submission. The Vila Velha native was active in 2010 and reigned unbeaten with three wins and one No Contest. He will have to adjust his game plan for a new opponent on short notice, however, as he now faces off with a fellow countryman.

Ramos (19-6-0) is no stranger to going the distance, and has fought to a decision on 16 occasions. The Nova União prospect has stopped his last two opponents, however, and is unbeaten in 2011. He steps in with just three weeks to prepare for his Octagon debut, but a win over Silva would be a solid start to his time in the promotion.

A timetable for Swick’s return is unknown, but he is expected to undergo surgery in the near future. He stated today that he will remain positive as he begins his road towards recovery.

UFC 134: Rio takes place on August 27th at the HSBC Arena in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.


UFC 134: Rio Fight Card (subject to change):

– Anderson “The Spider” Silva vs Yushin “Thunder” Okami (UFC Middleweight Championship)
– Mauricio “Shogun” Rua vs Forrest Griffin
– Antonio Rodrigo “Minotauro” Nogueira vs Brendan “The Hybrid” Schaub
– Edson Mendes Barboza Jr. vs Ross “The Real Deal” Pearson
– Luiz “Banha” Cane vs Stanislav Nedkov

– Spencer “The King” Fisher vs Thiago Tavares
– Paulo Thiago vs David “Daudi” Mitchell

– Erick “Indio” Silva vs Luis “Beição” Ramos
– Dan Miller vs Rousimar “Toquinho” Palhares
– Yuri “Marajo” Alcantara vs Felipe “Sertanejo” Arantes
– Yves “Tiger” Jabouin vs Ian “The Barn Owl” Loveland
– Raphael Assuncao vs Johnny Eduardo



(Photo Credit: Sherdog.com)